Author Topic: Journey to the United States Supreme Court!  (Read 5547 times)

gowyo

• Valued Member
Re: Journey to the United States Supreme Court!
« Reply #45 on: September 07, 2013 10:25:59 PM »
Rule 10 of the SCOTUS is not an exhaustive list of what they will hear.

One argument I could make is that it gives them the chance to define the "regularly" prong of the definition of debt collector. Another argument  could be to correct the erroneous factual findings(rarely they do this but it isn't completely impossible).
I am not a lawyer and most likely a crackpot.

CleaningUp

• Valued Member
« Reply #46 on: September 07, 2013 10:55:39 PM »
A couple of points...

1.  What error did the trial court make that gets to the "regularly" prong.  In my state, the appeals courts have defined 30% debt collection as reaching "regularly".  What case law do you have that supports your position?

2.  Appeals courts are bound by the facts of the case as found by the trial court.  Unless there is an obvious misinterpretation of the facts...like calling "green" as "red", the best you can get it to have it remanded for rehearing.  The Supreme Court does not determine new fact.

3. Appeals court do not gratuitously go beyond what the trial court has established or what has been proffered in the court filings.  If you failed to object at trial, your issues are dead, period.

4. The Supreme Court rules only on law or confusion in law as established by conflicting lower courts. If you can't establish that, your appeal is dead.

5. Look to you circuit's refusal to hear your case for evidence that there is no conflict or confusion in law.  And BTW...there will be the presumption at the Supreme Court level that the Circuit Court of Appeals acted correctly.

<Shaking head>

You're pushing a rope, and you haven't a clue as to it being a rope yet.

Clydesmom66

• Valued Member
Re: Journey to the United States Supreme Court! UPDATE
« Reply #47 on: September 24, 2017 02:22:55 AM »