Author Topic: Judgement holder still reporting collection acct. Dispute w/ CRA verified.  (Read 2118 times)

Fighting Irish

• Valued Member
Chase is in DE. Their contractual SoL is 3 years.

Also, echoing what KFMAN said. You need to know your FDCPA well enough to teach someone about it. The same goes for the FCRA. FDCPA is $1000 aggregate for all violations. But FCRA is per violation.

Which means that if they are reporting false information to three CRAs, then time they update that false information, it's 3 new violations.
Dang it, Jim! I'm a nurse, not an attorney!

(The rest of you, keep that in mind, too.)

excelsior

• Valued Member
take3,
Are you looking at hard copies from all 3 bureaus?

If so, does every element of the tradeline match and are they all accurate?

(OC can continue to report, as long as they report accurately).

For FICO scoring, the judgment is what is dragging down a score.  An old charge off is not as depressing to a FICO algorithm as a judgment.

Is ARB language in the agreement?  If so, there is a good chance to use FCRA for mutual walkaway and deletion. 

take3

• Valued Member
excelsior: I have hard copies in my hand from two of three right now. All info matches.  As far as arb language, the collection account already got a default judgement two years ago. I don't see what arb can do for me now.

Now, I understand the OC can continue to report accurately. That is my very question. The OC, WaMu/Chase, isn't reporting at all; Midland is. Even pretending Midland were the OC, I don't understand how continuing to report a collection is accurate. Does a collection not get written off and become a $0 balance once it becomes a judgement? Does reporting a $2700 collection and a $2700 judgement not misrepresent the total amount of alleged debt?