Author Topic: Certified Mail / Electronic Reciept instead of Green Card  (Read 8526 times)

HarryC

• Valued Member
Re: Certified Mail / Electronic Reciept instead of Green Card
« Reply #30 on: June 23, 2011 12:46:49 PM »
Most civil rules I've read say "item is considered served when it is mailed."  By that standard, a receipt showing it was mailed should be enough.

Having said that, I use certified when it is important (like service of a Motion) and CMRR when it is REALLY important (like a DV or arb election)...  something I could conceivably sue over.
I'm not a lawyer and I'm not even very smart.  You'd be well advised not to listen to anything I have to say.

Lecasbas

• Valued Member
« Reply #31 on: June 23, 2011 02:28:56 PM »
The mail box rule will only carry so much water.  It is well known that the post office is not 100% on their deliveries.  If the other side called them for a witness their stance would have to be, "Yes, we got the thing but we have no idea where it went." 

duh

• Valued Member
« Reply #32 on: June 23, 2011 05:03:32 PM »
Perhaps your experience alone will serve as an answer to those who are considering using electronic service.

There's just something comforting about holding that green card in your hot little hand!  :)

Yes, as BJ says, it is comforting to have physical evidence..... however!

More then once I have sent CMRRR and never got that green card returned.

Now I sometimes will opt for just online checking and printing the info from there, but
if I am waiting for the green card will also print the info from the web.

I challenged the post office about one of them. They told me I needed to wait 30 days and they then would 'try' and trace it.
I am not an attorney. My posts about my experiences are for entertainment and  possibly educational purposes only.

If you need legal help, you should seek legal counsel.

Lecasbas

• Valued Member
« Reply #33 on: June 24, 2011 01:18:18 PM »