Author Topic: If I Sue My Mortgage Co under TCPA, can they Counterclaim with a Foreclosure?  (Read 1077 times)

HarryC

• Valued Member
The title says it all.

I have my mortgage company on @ $50k in TCPA violations.  If I sue them over the violations, can they turn around and foreclose as a counterclaim?

They are probably going to try to foreclose at some point anyway, but I don't really want to rush it,

On the other hand, if I go after them ahead of time, it may be tougher for them to put their hands on all of the documents pertaining to my loan.

Does anyone know of any cases that show the answer one way or another?

Thanks!    :sharked:
I'm not a lawyer and I'm not even very smart.  You'd be well advised not to listen to anything I have to say.

KFMAN

• Valued Member
Since it's in State court I would say yes.

It's been mentioned several times before, not to cash your $50,000 check before you receive it, although the violations might help settle other issues .  $5,000-$10,000 is a lot more realistic as long as you have solid evidence.  I would read the TCPA thread.

howucantoo

• Valued Member
I am in a same situation .

Have over $160K in TCPA and per advise of an attorney a very good chance to cash in on more than half, but I'll be waiting.

You see, if the mortgage company has not foreclosed (as mine hasn't, lets say, due to internal issues), you need leverage

in case they do and there is a deficiency or any other problems, which may require you to pay out of pocket.

TCPA has a 4 year SOL .

My case was dismissed w/o prejudice about 9 months ago, but now I got even more violations (FCRA, FDCPA, RESPA, etc) on

lender and its collectors and it keeps accumulating. (FDCPA for CAs has 1 year SOL).

I am not an attorney, just  type" A" personality.
If you need legal help, you should seek legal counsel.

KFMAN

• Valued Member
Your attorney says you can get $80,000?  What are you waiting for?

howucantoo

• Valued Member