Author Topic: TCPA - creditor calls to my cell phone for someone else  (Read 2748 times)

JSJD23

• Valued Member
TCPA - creditor calls to my cell phone for someone else
« on: September 17, 2010 11:44:11 PM »
Hi All-

I'm a newbie and just discovered the TCPA.  What a wonderful law.  Here's my situation:

In April, a creditor started calling my cell phone asking for someone that I have never heard of.  I would say they call about 10 times in about 2 weeks time.   I could see each call on my missed call log.  Eventually, I picked up the phone and told them they had the wrong person. 

I have one phone bill that shows 3 calls - but I know they called more than that if you include missed calls. The call log on my phone has been deleted since then. My question is there a way to get complete call history (incoming & missed) from a wireless carrier?   I've called my carrier (Sprint) and they tell me that they only have calls received and placed. 

What can I do?  Anything?

Thanks!

kevinmanheim

• Valued Member
Re: TCPA - creditor calls to my cell phone for someone else
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2010 02:13:49 PM »
Sue the collector and then subpoena the records from Sprint.
Sprint has them - they just don't hand them over to customers without a subpoena.

Think about it. If you had broken some terrible law, do you think Sprint couldn't give the FBI all your call information, including dialed, missed, received, and also your GPS locations at the time the calls were placed?

metalstorm

• Valued Member
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2010 08:48:54 PM »
And if you have that statement from Sprint in writing i would sue them also.
When the people fear the government, there is tyranny. When the government fears the people, there is liberty. --Thomas Jefferson

The FEDERAL RESERVE, Stealing the American Dream since 1913

Don't rest, don't stop ,don't quit, and don't give up.Ride them hard and put them away wet!~metalstorm