Author Topic: Needing to pull credit reports  (Read 139 times)

BingoFuel

• Valued Member
Needing to pull credit reports
« on: November 11, 2017 06:12:23 PM »
First my apology. This is my first post. I've been a member for a year and half, and a lurker since 2010.  I've been hesitant to post because my first question is so basic and stupid. So hesitant, in fact, that its taken me nearly eight years to write my first post. My credit is terrible. I've got a paid tax lien still on the reports. We recently had our PayPal account hacked, and we've got some old collection stuff to work through. 

I've searched the forum,and read much of Flyingifr's method, but I'm still overwhelmed and confused. 
Here is the question that I've wanted to ask for eight years:
Where should I go to pull my credit reports? I want to regularly, daily even, review all three. Is this possible. I'm an analyst by trade and have taken no action on credit repair because I don't know the answer to this basic question. 

« Last Edit: November 11, 2017 06:19:20 PM by BingoFuel »

CleaningUp

• Valued Member
Re: Needing to pull credit reports
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2017 10:04:47 PM »
You are entitled to annual free copies of your reports from all three major reporting agencies.  See:  http://www.annualcreditreport.com.

You can also get free reports when you are denied credit by writing the agency that contributed the report that was used to review your credit history.

Given that it is free, this is something that everyone should do every year.  Note, too, that there are on-line services that monitor your report on a regular basis, although I think the days of pulls every day are long gone.  They are useful for overall trends and for the specific items that the report, but they cannot be used in litigation because they are prototypical hearsay.

BingoFuel

• Valued Member
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2017 02:40:40 AM »