Author Topic: Thoughts on Wisconsin AB 117/Predatory JDB Lawsuits?  (Read 261 times)

olemole

• Valued Member
Thoughts on Wisconsin AB 117/Predatory JDB Lawsuits?
« on: July 31, 2017 07:49:50 PM »
Hello!  I've recently been sued by a Junk Debt Collector and am not willing to put my head in the sand and hope it all goes away.  Definitely NOT interested in a Default Judgement!

I am extremely new at this and have been doing some research on my options/filing a a written answer.  I have gone through the Forums and have read posts from flyingifr, trueQ, BrokeBob, and Bruno the JDB Killer and your expertise has been invaluable.  I'm working on writing up my answer and affirmative defenses and am hoping a few of you All Stars might chime in.

In my web searching on 425.109 and 422.409, I found this article, about an Assembly Bill signed into law last year, that seems to encourage predatory lawsuits by lowering the burden of proof that JDBs have to provide.  Does anyone have any experience with this Bill?  Or can anyone help me decipher what it means?  (Here is the link to the Bill: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2015/related/proposals/ab117)

I was considering adding additional text to my Answer, something along the lines of "Pursuant to WI 425.109, I demand every scrap of paper you've got", similar to advice from trueQ, but I'm now wondering if this is the correct path to take in light of the amendments to 425.109.

Thanks so much!

BrokeBob

• Valued Member
Re: Thoughts on Wisconsin AB 117/Predatory JDB Lawsuits?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017 09:08:01 PM »
What this means:

It is much harder to beat a JDB using 425.109 these days. 

Often, the best way to beat them is with the VERY strict chain-of-custody notification requirements of 422.409, which they can hardly ever provide.

Small claims magistrates pretty much ignore the law.