Author Topic: What is the impact of payments on CK score?  (Read 1051 times)

tijuanasam

• Valued Member
What is the impact of payments on CK score?
« on: February 07, 2016 03:44:35 AM »
Hey all...I've been reviewing my scores (mid 500's) on Credit Karma for a couple months now & it appears that it's primarily my payment history that's killing my scores. The missed payments will all hit the 3 year mark in March of this year & I was wondering if, at 3 years, they may not be calculated in anymore. Does anyone know how long that payment hx is going to haunt me...am I stuck w/it for the full 7 years, or does it get less important w/time?

All the TL's won't budge...they're mostly federal student loans & all attempts at fixing the lates have failed unfortunately.

cgoodwin

• Valued Member
Re: What is the impact of payments on CK score?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2016 03:53:55 AM »
If they are over three years, they are holding you down. It's likely lack of current credit. Now may be time for a small secured card to get the numbers going up again.
If you think this is legal advise.......
ask yourself why I wasn't smart enough to avoid this myself?!?

excelsior

• Valued Member
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016 09:38:36 PM »
Hey all...I've been reviewing my scores (mid 500's) on Credit Karma for a couple months now & it appears that it's primarily my payment history that's killing my scores. The missed payments will all hit the 3 year mark in March of this year & I was wondering if, at 3 years, they may not be calculated in anymore. Does anyone know how long that payment hx is going to haunt me...am I stuck w/it for the full 7 years, or does it get less important w/time?

All the TL's won't budge...they're mostly federal student loans & all attempts at fixing the lates have failed unfortunately.