Author Topic: Need attorney in California  (Read 717 times)

gregorya51

• Valued Member
Need attorney in California
« on: May 25, 2014 05:35:52 AM »
Hi everyone -

I was a real estate developer/ builder for 16 years.  In late 2007 my construction lenders failed, were taken over by the FDIC and my loans were called.  Unable to refinance in a declining market and with personal guarantees on millions I lost everything.  I have not looked at my credit report in a few years but I believe at this point in time what ever is on there (mostly credit card debt) is beyond the statute of limitation and so I am looking for an attorney licensed in Ca who can look at my credit report and rating and clean it up.  I am still in very poor financial condition and I am not looking to borrow any money at this time I just want the peace of mind of restoring my credit and I want to stop receiving letters from collection agencies.  Am I taking the wrong approach?  Feel free to share your thoughts or recommend an attorney
Thanks

maylaur

• Valued Member
  • I donated!!
Re: Need attorney in California
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2014 08:01:11 PM »
I suggest you read all you can on this site about cleaning up your credit, specifically flyingIFR's Method.

You don't need to hire a lawyer to clean up your reports.  What you DO need to do is get yourself copies of those reports.  Annualcreditreport.com will allow you to get copes from all 3 for free once a year.  You can get them online, but it is recommended that you order paper copies instead.

When my husband and I frst tried to buy our house, I had a judgment and we both had several collections, putting our scores in the low- to mid-500s.  Within 5 months, our scores jumped to the low 700s after I used the information on this site to deal with them.

It takes patience and determination, but it can be done.
Anything I post is from my own personal experience, and might not apply to your own situation.