Author Topic: Still reporting balance after 1099C  (Read 4649 times)

silverzgirl

• Valued Member
Still reporting balance after 1099C
« on: February 11, 2013 01:04:38 PM »
I went ahead and filed a dispute with the credit bureaus since BoA sent the 1099s my way.
Experian came back this morning, and BoA confirmed there is a balance due, higher than the 1099C. The report states that the OC claims that their amount is being reported correctly.

What's next...ITS?
“Know your enemy and know yourself and you can fight a hundred battles without disaster.”  - Sun-Tzu

I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV. I once thought I was a lawyer when I was litigating in a courtroom, but turns out I just had Patron induced bed spins and dreamed it all. Take my posts with a grain of salt...and a shot of Patron. But not so much you think you are a lawyer.

WinningTheBattle2010

• Valued Member
Re: Still reporting balance after 1099C
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013 05:05:10 PM »
I had one do the same to me.  Left a balance after the 1099-C.  I sent an ITS letter.

They removed the TL completely on all three CRA's.
I DONATE , do you?
I am not a lawyer, any/all information on my answers should be considered my thoughts only, Not Legal Advice.

montag

• Valued Member
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013 06:13:49 PM »
What's next...ITS?
That and tip off the IRS. http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f3949a.pdf

When a 1099C is issued, the issuer has already written off a bad debt which lowers their taxable income.  To continue collecting is clearly forbidden.

silverzgirl

• Valued Member
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013 06:26:27 PM »
Failure to pay tax and false deductions?
“Know your enemy and know yourself and you can fight a hundred battles without disaster.”  - Sun-Tzu