Author Topic: 1099-C Confusion  (Read 27696 times)

silverzgirl

• Valued Member
Re: 1099-C Confusion
« Reply #90 on: June 04, 2013 12:52:19 PM »
I also got a letter from EX claiming that they had to perform further investigation since what I sent does not constitute reason to change the reporting of the OC. I can buy that. Unfortunately this bought them an extra 30 days to investigate.

TU was easy. Within a couple of weeks, they had changed the balances to zero, and status to paid off, was a CO. They had also sent a letter stating they did not have my current addy on file and could not send the info…though both arrived the same day lol.

Still waiting to hear from EQ though. We are closing in on 30 next week. EQ is usually slow.
“Know your enemy and know yourself and you can fight a hundred battles without disaster.”  - Sun-Tzu

I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV. I once thought I was a lawyer when I was litigating in a courtroom, but turns out I just had Patron induced bed spins and dreamed it all. Take my posts with a grain of salt...and a shot of Patron. But not so much you think you are a lawyer.

mrdoon

• Valued Member
« Reply #91 on: June 04, 2013 03:44:13 PM »
The only trigger that does not dismiss is the 36 month nonpayment testing period but the creditor controls that...all they have to do is continue collecting in the 12 months prior to CY closing and they don't have to file the 1099C. TrueQ pointed this out already...they just need bonafide attempts to collect.

Keep in mind that "Significant bona fide collection activity does not include nominal or ministerial collection action, such as an automated mailing. Facts and circumstances indicating that a debt was not canceled include the existence of a lien relating to the debt (up to the value of the security) or the sale or packaging for sale of the debt by the creditor."