Author Topic: How to start cleaning up your credit report years later?  (Read 3464 times)

Breal

• Valued Member
How to start cleaning up your credit report years later?
« on: June 26, 2011 07:03:34 PM »
My credit report is littered with old debts, but still about 2 years away from the 7 year SOL to come off. I know the initial 30 of communication is very crucial, but since I am already WAY passed that point I am really not sure where to start this process. I know you need to dispute with the OC first if you wish to sue them (which I do) but all the debts I have are LONG gone out of the OC's hands. Im not sure how or where to start, any comments or information is greatly appreciated. Thanks ALL!

gowyo

• Valued Member
Re: How to start cleaning up your credit report years later?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2011 07:15:01 PM »
People seem to have had good luck with the 623 method.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2011 07:30:44 PM by gowyo »
I am not a lawyer and most likely a crackpot.

Admin0248

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2011 07:29:29 PM »
There is also a fair amount of discussion on Debtorboards. 

Go to the HOME page and use the search function for "623". I believe that Smurfy has posted about 623 reviews in some detail.

While we have no issues with referencing useful links on other boards, we are not interested in raising the other boards traffic numbers when we have similar or better material here.

There is also the matter that ALL of the other sites are for-profit operations for their owners. They get paid for their traffic. We are fine with their existence, but we do not want to be part of THEIR fundraising.

We are a non-profit, tax-exempt operation.  No one legally or organizationally is permitted to make any money from our efforts.

cprems

• Valued Member
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2011 07:50:15 PM »
What State are you in?

You may have recourse under your State Statutes.